## **BOARD WORKSHOP MINUTES**

Bronson, FL December 2, 2019 11:00 a.m.

The School Board of Levy County held a Board Workshop this 2<sup>nd</sup> day of December, 2019 at 11:00 a.m. with Board Chairman Paige Brookins, Chris Cowart, Cameron Asbell, Ashley Clemenzi. Brad Etheridge and Board Attorney David Delaney present.

<u>Welcome Visitors</u>: Board Chairman Paige Brookins welcomed all the visitors and asked if anyone from the audience would like to address the Board. There were none.

Best and Brightest 2019-2020: Marla Hiers gave a PowerPoint presentation updating the Board on the proposed changes for the 2019-2020 Best and Brightest awards. She said the Legislature recognizes that, second only to parents, teachers play the most critical role within schools in preparing students to achieve a high level of academic performance. Therefore, it is the intent of the Legislature to recruit, retain, and recognize teachers who meet the needs of this state and have achieved success in the classroom. She said it is the intent of the School Board of Levy County to reward as many high performing, eligible, full-time, K-12 or instructional employees as possible with the funds within the School District's allocation for the Florida Best and Brightest Teacher Program. Mrs. Hiers said the four categories of awards are Recruitment Award, Retention Award, Principal Award and Recognition Award. She talked about the requirements for each award. The amounts paid for each award were discussed. She said qualifying schools in Levy County must have improved an average of three percentage points or more in the percentage of total possible points achieved for determining school grades over the prior three (3) years. Those approved schools are BMHS, CES, CKS, CMHS, JBES, WES, WMHS, YTS and WWCS. She said the School Board Policy 6.53: Florida Best and Brightest will be advertised and adopted/amended at the January 14, 2020 Board meeting.

There being no further business to come before the Board, the workshop was adjourned.

ATTEST:	APPROVED:
Jeffery R. Edison, Secretary	Paige Brookins, Board Chairman