## CHAPTER 2.00 - SCHOOL BOARD GOVERNANCE AND ORGANIZATION

## 2.02 - Organization and Officers of the Board

## POLICY:

The School Board of Levy County consists of five members elected by the qualified electors from the entire school district. One member is elected from each of the five school board member resident areas. Each member is elected for a term of four years. Two members are elected at the general election at the time of the presidential election and three members are elected at the "off year" general election.

- (1) The Board shall be comprised of members elected to four-year terms and meeting such other requirements as stipulated by law.
- (2) A chairman and a vice-chairman, and such other officers as the Board may determine, shall be elected annually by the School Board at its organizational meeting held on the fourth Tuesday in November; provided, however, if a vacancy occurs in the chairmanship, the School Board shall elect a chairman at the next regular or special meeting.
- (3) The chairman shall preside at all School Board meetings, appoint committees, and perform such other duties as may be prescribed by law or by action of the School Board. The vice-chairman shall preside in the absence of the chairman and shall perform such other duties of the chairman as required by circumstances. The chairman and vice-chairman shall be bonded in the manner prescribed by the State Board of Education.
- (4) The Superintendent, as provided by law, shall be the secretary and executive officer of the School Board. At any organizational meeting, the Superintendent shall act as chairman until the organization of the School Board is completed.

<u>STATUTORY AUTHORITY</u>: 1001.41 (2), 1001.42 (2), 1001.42 (17), F.S.

LAWS IMPLEMENTED: 1001.32 (3), 1001.34, 1001.35, 1001.36, 1001.361, 1001.371, 1001.48, 1001.51 (1), F.S.

HISTORY:

Adopted: 06/17/97 Revision Date(s): 12/03/02, 08/25/15 Formerly: